Untitled

maxistentialist:

I want your handwriting.

Have you ever considered how strange it is that handwriting fonts have come to convey a kind of folksy authenticity in the design lexicon of our age? It’s disingenuous. Handwriting fonts – especially the ones you see everywhere (Comic Sans, Papyrus, Lucida Handwriting) – are mechanically reproduced and manipulated into a kind of cloying, fake, plastic perfection.

Penmanship is mostly a lost art – it is (rightfully) taught less and less in school, and the opportunities for people to see your handwriting are few and far between. As a result, modern handwriting looks really cool. What’s authentic and charming and inviting about real handwriting are the little imperfections that prove it came from a real person.

SO – I have decided to become a collector of handwriting.

Here’s how it works:

  • You reblog this or email/Facebook me
  • I’ll arrange for you to pick up a template
  • You’ll fill it out
  • I will create a TrueType font from your handwriting and send it to you

As I collect handwriting, I will periodically post things rendered in the handwriting of the donor – things they have taught me, important aspects of our relationship, jokes they have told me… we’ll see.

Please donate today.

I want to donate, please.

Leave a Reply

