Inside my picky brain.

Me, to self:

I want stationery with my logo on it.

Why don’t I order it online?

But I can’t determine the paper quality. How bright is the white? How does the light hit it? Is it shiny or matte? What is the texture of the paper? How thick is it? Does it feel cheap? Is it recycled? How will it absorb my pen’s ink – will it lie in a puddle or soak? Also, it must have a nice weight – no flopping.

And what if the ink color isn’t the exact orange I want? It will be impossible to match the envelopes to the ink instead of ink to the envelopes.

Scratch that – I’ll find my own paper and stamp my own notecards. I’m going to Paper Source – they have everything, right?

I find the note cards (the stuff with recycled content, of course) and now it’s time to find the envelopes.

Of the hundreds of colors and patterns, none of these are the right color! Oh wait, these hot orange vellum envelopes are perfect! (I have a thing for vellum.) But I don’t like the shape of the envelope flap. I need the lines to make sense – be parallel to other lines. (Is this what origami does to your brain?) The flap doesn’t correlate with the other angles!

Time to start looking for paper. I’m going to make my own envelopes! Again, nothing in the store is what I need! Will I have to paint paper myself? Well, I’ll look in the last corner of the store: the hidden shelves.

Ah! My favorite book cloth now comes in a tantalizing orange that is the EXACT color I’ve been looking for! (You can’t imagine my excitement.) I love using a fiber other than paper to make envelopes or to wrap gifts. And this book cloth has a great texture. (It reminds me of a beautiful notecard set I bought in Paris years ago – the paper was handmade and heavily textured, the envelopes were assorted colors in a sheer organza. Only the most special people received a note from that set, and not too long ago I parted with the last one.)

Next obstacle: Find an ink pad that matches my soon-to-be-envelopes. Magically, an orange ink pad in the exact color I need appears! (I swear this was magic because I looked earlier and didn’t see it!)

Now for the labor: assembling the envelopes and making the stamp. I unfold a spare envelope to use as a pattern. The book cloth is cut with a razor and ruler, the flaps are glued with PVA. For the finishing touch, I carve a plastic eraser, stamp my notecards, and smile proudly! I’ve had fun using my stamp to mark my Moleskine Cahiers (I’m loyal to the Kraft covers).

Leave a Reply

