There is something indelibly chic about things that are clear.

I have long fancied clear materials – the Goody headbands I’ve worn for years and have to buy again and again (they snap easily), the way Michael Kors sneaks the invisible into his shoes,

the mid-century modern sofa punctuated with lucite feet I pined for in a magazine, Susan Bates Crystal Ice knitting needles, the TI-83 calculator I employed in high school,

and the thick acrylic glaze I add to my fingernail polish.

My latest object of clear passion is my set of clear specs.

Leave a Reply

